Human rights: Canada sanctions Russia, Iran and Myanmar | War in Ukraine

Spread the love

Human rights: Canada sanctions Russia, Iran and Myanmar | War in Ukraine

< source srcset=",w_960/v1/ici-info/16x9/russia-manifestation-Arrêt.JPG" media="(min-width: 0px) and (max- width: 99999px)"/>

Canadian Foreign Minister Mélanie Joly has blasted Russia's “trampling” of human rights.

Canada imposes sanctions on dozens of officials and entities from three of the world's worst human rights regimes.

Ottawa will freeze all Canadian assets held by 67 individuals and nine entities in Russia, Iran and Myanmar who are complicit in gross and systematic human rights abuses.

The new sanctions include officials who have cracked down on protests against the Russian and Iranian regimes, as well as some Iranian state media.

Russia's Justice Ministry and Commission campaign were sanctioned, as was Russia's Federal Prison Service.

In Myanmar, sanctions apply to military leaders who overthrew the democratically elected government in 2021 and who helped arm those who suppress protests and minorities.

Dignity, freedom and justice are pillars of Canada's policy abroad, Canadian Foreign Minister Mélanie Joly said in a statement.

So as the world witnesses the trampling of human rights in places like Russia, Iran and Myanmar, we are reminded that we can only create change by standing up and standing up for the values who are dear to us, she added.

The sanctions were announced Friday, on the eve of International Human Rights Day.

Experts say, however, that Ottawa has not the ability to monitor and apply its sanctions.

In addition, Russia announced on Friday that it would ban entry into its territory of 200 Canadians, including the minister of Health, Jean-Yves Duclos, and CIBC President, Victor Dodig, in response to similar Canadian sanctions targeting Russian personalities.

This is a decision taken in response to personal sanctions against Russian officials, the Russian Foreign Ministry said in a statement, in denouncing the Russophobic policy of Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau's regime.

The list includes Conservative Party spokesperson Sarah Fischer; Telesat Canada CEO Daniel Goldberg; the President of the Canadian Electoral Commission, Stephane Perrault, as well as several Canadian personalities of Ukrainian origin.

Since the beginning of the Russian offensive in Ukraine on February 24 , Canada has imposed sanctions on more than 1,400 individuals and entities located in or originating from Russia, Belarus or Ukraine.

Russia has retaliated each time with similar sanctions.

With information from Agence France-Presse, and La Presse canadienne

Previous Article
Next Article