Quebec 2022 in figures | Elections Quebec 2022

Spread the love

Quebec 2022 in figures | ÉQuebec 2022 elections

Observers and activists pass with a fine-tooth comb the detailed results of the Quebec elections since Monday evening.

With the Quebec elections over, it is now time to review the detailed results. Because the most telling figures are not necessarily those that made the headlines in the hours following the opening of the ballot boxes.

This is the number of women who will take their places on the benches of the National Assembly when work resumes, unheard of. Among them will be Kateri Champagne Jourdain, who will become the first indigenous woman to sit in Parliament. Some 53 women were elected in 2018, which was already a record. This number had also climbed to 55 after the by-elections that led to the victories of the caquists Nancy Guillemette in Roberval and Joëlle Boutin in Jean-Talon. Of note, the Liberal caucus, with 13 women and 8 men, will be predominantly female.

This is the voter turnout this year. Despite an aggressive campaign by Élections Québec, only two out of three voters voted this year. This is the worst turnout in recent Quebec history after that of 2008, when only 57.43% of voters took part in the vote that led to the re-election of Jean Charest's Liberals.

This is the percentage of registered voters who did not vote for the Coalition avenir Québec (CAQ) on Monday evening. This figure includes voters who voted for other candidates; voters who could have voted but did not; as well as voters who have had their ballot rejected by Elections Quebec. Some critics of François Legault have already been circulating such calculations since Monday evening to discredit his victory and/or to show the need to reform the voting system, the CAQ having won 72% of the seats available in the National Assembly (90 out of 125 ).

This is the number of constituencies that changed hands on Monday evening. All switched to the CAQ camp, apart from Maurice-Richard and Verdun, who opted for Québec solidaire (QS), and Camille-Laurin, who voted for the Parti québécois (PQ). Half (8 out of 17) of these counties are in Greater Montreal, ie 4 on the island, 3 in Laval and 1 on the South Shore (Laporte).

This is the number of ridings lost by the CAQ on Monday evening. Only the outgoing deputy for Camille-Laurin, Richard Campeau, will not return to the National Assembly. Instead, it is the leader of the Parti Québécois, Paul St-Pierre Plamondon, who will sit in his seat.

This is the number of ridings where the Conservative Party of Quebec (PCQ) finished in second place. Fourteen (14) of these counties are located in the Capitale-Nationale and in Chaudière-Appalaches.

This is the number of ridings where the Quebec Liberal Party (PLQ) finished in fifth place, behind the CAQ, QS, the PQ and the PCQ. That's more than half of the 125 counties in Quebec. And it was in René-Lévesque, on the North Shore, that the team obtained its worst score, or 1.66% of the votes cast.

That's the number ridings where Liberal candidates have not reached the 15% mark to be reimbursed half of their election expenses by Élections Québec. Note that Vicky May-Hamm, who obtained 14.99451% of the votes in Orford, would have needed only two additional votes to cross this threshold. The PQ, for its part, did not obtain 15% of the vote in 73 constituencies, compared to 65 counties in 2018.

It was the number of votes in advance that allowed CAQ MP François Bonnardel to be re-elected in Granby. It was, in absolute numbers, the most comfortable lead this year, ahead of that of his fellow CAQ players Sonia LeBel in Champlain (16,130 votes ahead), André Lamontagne in Johnson (15,621 votes ahead) and Chantal Soucy in Saint-Hyacinthe (15,587 votes ahead). In percentage, the palm goes rather to the PQ Pascal Bérubé in Matane-Matapédia (67.4% of the votes), followed by the Liberal Gregory Kelley in Jacques-Cartier (62.6%) and the CAQ member Andrée Laforest in Chicoutimi (62, 3%). Gabriel Nadeau-Dubois of QS came in fourth place with 59.5% of the vote.

This is the number of votes he lacked for the Conservative candidate in Beauce-Nord, Olivier Dumais, to style the finish line of the Caquiste deputy Luc Provençal. The PCQ is also considering requesting a judicial recount in this constituency. The results were also particularly tight in Fabre, where caquiste Alice Abou-Khalil won with only 306 votes more than her liberal opponent, Sonia Beaudelot, but the PLQ confirmed Monday that it would not dispute the results.

This is the percentage of votes attributed to independents and candidates from other parties represented in the elections this year, including the Green Party of Quebec of Alex Tyrrell, the Canadian Party of Quebec of Colin Standish, Climat Quebec of Martine Ouellet and the Bloc Montreal of Balarama Holness. None of them managed to get elected.

This is the sum that the PQ will have to give up over four years if it observes the promise made by its leader Paul St-Pierre Plamondon not to touch the funds distributed by Élections Québec for the votes cast in favor of the candidates Pierre Vanier (Rousseau) and Catherine Provost (L'Assomption), who were expelled from the party a few days before the vote for having made anti-Muslim remarks. This amount corresponds to the 4,985 votes obtained by Mr. Vanier and the 4,370 votes obtained by Ms. Provost (9,355 votes in total), multiplied by the $2.62 that Élections Québec will pay annually to the parties for each vote cast in their favor (10. $48 over four years).

This is the number of constituencies obtained by adding those won by QS (11) and by the PQ (3) to those where the sum of the votes for the two parties would have allowed a victory rather than a defeat on Monday evening ( 5 counties, namely Gaspé, Jean-Talon, Marie-Victorin, Rimouski and Ungava). This exercise in political fiction – which may seem absurd at first glance – suggests that such a merger, desired by a number of separatists, would not even have been enough to delight the official opposition to the PLQ. A similar calculation, in 2018, resulted in the fictitious election of 33 deputies.

With information from Marc Gosselin

Previous Article
Next Article