Russia launches its largest space module to ISS

Russia launches its largest space module to ISS

Russia launches its largest space module to ISS

Moscow (Russia), July 22: The Russian multifunctional Nauka (Science) module was successfully launched from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan to the International Space Station (ISS), Russia’s state space corporation Roscosmos said Wednesday.

The Proton-M carrier rocket with the Nauka module was launched at 17:58 Moscow time (1458 GMT), Roscosmos said in a statement.

It added that the Nauka module is scheduled to dock with the Zvezda module at the ISS in 8 days on July 29 at 16:26 Moscow time (1326 GMT).

The module that will become the largest Russian component of the ISS will provide Russian astronauts onboard the space outpost with their own room and capacity for lab research and storage space for scientific equipment.

The launch of Nauka was originally scheduled for 2007 but has repeatedly been delayed due to technical problems. The module’s systems have since been modernized and underwent repairs.

Source: Xinhua

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *