Sanctions: Russia bars entry to 62 Canadians


Sanctions : Russia prohibits entry to 62 Canadians

The Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs explains this situation by “the particularly hostile character of the regime of (Canadian) Prime Minister Justin Trudeau […]” with regard to Russia.

Russia announced on Friday that it would ban entry into its territory of 62 Canadians, including political and military leaders, priests and journalists, in response to recent Canadian sanctions targeting Russian personalities.

This decision was taken in view of the particularly hostile nature of the regime of [Canadian] Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and in response to actions aimed at insulting not only the multinational and multi-faith people of Russia, but also Orthodox believers from around the world, the Russian Foreign Ministry said in a statement.

Canada has in recent months taken a series of sanctions against Moscow because of the Ukrainian conflict, which have notably targeted Patriarch Kirill, head of the Russian Orthodox Church.

The people sanctioned by Russia have distinguished themselves with malicious activities in the fight against "the Russian world" and traditional Russian values, mentions the press release from Russian diplomacy.

On this list is notably the spokesperson for the Canadian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Adrien Blanchard, the Catholic priest and editor in chief of the magazine Convivium, Raymond J. de Souza, the Commander of Canadian Armed Forces Intelligence, Michael Charles Wright, as well as several advisors to Canadian Deputy Prime Minister Chrystia Freeland and an LGBT activist , Brent Hawkes.

Russia launched a military offensive in Ukraine on February 24. This assault provoked unprecedented Western sanctions against Moscow, which retaliated with similar measures.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here