The dislike button on YouTube is not very effective for recommending content

Spread the love

YouTube's Dislike button not very effective for recommending content

YouTube's recommendation algorithm is responsible for 70% of views on the platform.

If you hope to discourage the YouTube algorithm from recommending certain content to you by using the dislike button, you should reconsider your method. A study conducted by the Mozilla browser reveals that the thumbs down is only effective in 12% of cases.

What if you thought that registering Not interested was more useful for eliminate unwanted suggestions, think again: it only is 11% of the time.

According to Mozilla's study, all the options offered in the YouTube application to signify disinterest in certain content are weak and inadequate in preventing less than half of unwanted algorithmic recommendations.

The research team relied on millions of recommended videos and anecdotal reports from thousands of people. The information was collected with the RegretsReporter extension of its browser, which allows Internet users to share their data of recommendations for studies.

The research also looked at Do Not Recommend Channel and Delete Viewing History options.

Based on the findings of the study, to change the algorithm recommendation on YouTube, viewers should tap Don't Recommend the channel instead. According to the study, this option prevented 43% of unwanted recommendations.

Another option for Internet users is to delete the history of visits, which was used to eliminate 29% of unwanted content.

The research team notes in its report that YouTube should better explain these controls to its users.

“YouTube should respect the comments that users share about their experience treating them as meaningful signals about how people want to spend their time on the platform. »

— Mozilla's research team

Some people are willing to take extra steps to avoid unwanted recommendations, for example by activating a virtual private network (VPN, or VPN, in English) or by browsing the video site without being authenticated there.

YouTube spokeswoman Elena Hernandez said to the specialized site The Verge that these behaviors of the platform were intentional, since the objective is not to block all content related to a subject.

It is important to note that our controls do not filter entire topics or viewpoints, as this could have negative effects for Internet users, such as creating echo chambers, she told The Verge, criticizing in passing the report which, according to the spokesperson, does not take into account the actual functioning of the platform's recommendation system.

With the information s of Engadget, and The Verge

Previous Article
Next Article