The French Parliament ratifies the accession of Sweden and Finland to NATO


The French Parliament ratifies the accession of Sweden and Finland to NATO

French MPs voting for Sweden and Finland joining NATO.

The French parliament ratified Sweden's and Finland's accession protocols to the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), by a vote of the National Assembly on Tuesday, after the decision history of these two countries to give up their neutrality because of the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

The deputies adopted the text by 209 votes against 46 with the support of the Les Républicains party, the Socialist Party and the ecologists, the abstention of the National Rally (extreme right) and the vote against of France Insoumise (extreme left) .

Sweden and Finland, however, require ratification by all 30 member states of the organization to qualify for the protection of Article 5 of the the NATO Charter in the event of an attack.

And Turkey is threatening to freeze the process, accusing the two Scandinavian countries of benevolence towards the Kurdistan Workers' Party (PKK) and its allies, which Ankara considers terrorist organizations.

France joins 20 allies who have already ratified the protocols, French Foreign Minister Catherine Colonna said.

The head of French diplomacy highlighted the historic and major decision of Sweden and Finland, whose neutrality has so far been a cardinal principle.

This turning point comes from the upheaval of our geopolitical landmarks with the Russian invasion of Ukraine, the use of brute force by a power with unprecedented violence, exactions , rapes, murders and deportations, castigated the minister.

With NATO, it's about collective defense and not about being offensive, Ms Colonna said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here