The Nobel Prize in Physics goes to a Franco-Austro-American trio

Spread the love

The Nobel Prize in Physics goes to a Franco-Austro-American trio

The French experimental physicist Alain Aspect, American theoretical and experimental physicist John Francis Clauser and Austrian quantum physicist Anton Zeilinger were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics.

The Nobel Prize in Physics on Tuesday crowned Frenchman Alain Aspect, American John Clauser and Austrian Anton Zeilinger, three pioneers of the revolutionary mechanisms of quantum physics .

The trio of septuagenarians are rewarded for their discoveries on quantum entanglement, a mechanism where two quantum particles are perfectly correlated, regardless of the distance between them, announced the Nobel jury.

The demonstration of this astonishing property has paved the way for new technologies in quantum computing and ultra-secure communications, or even ultra-sensitive quantum sensors that would allow extremely precise measurements, such as that of gravity in the atmosphere. ;space.

Quantum physicist Anton Zeilinger.

This puzzling mechanics was predicted by quantum theory. Yet even Albert Einstein did not believe it: two particles joined at the start – like twins could be – could bear the mark of their common past and behave similarly, at a distance.

< p class="e-p">Affiliated to the French University of Paris-Saclay and Polytechnique, Alain Aspect is 75 years old, while John Clauser is 79 and Anton Zeilinger, from the University of Vienna , is 77 years old.

The trio are rewarded for their experiments with entangled photons, establishing violations of Bell's inequalities and paving a pioneering path to quantum computing, according to the Nobel jury.

“Alain Aspect, John Clauser and Anton Zeilinger each conducted groundbreaking experiments using entangled quantum states, where two particles behave as a single unit even when separated .

—Nobel committee

The prize is endowed with 10 million Swedish crowns (approximately 920,000 euros) in each discipline, to be shared in the event of co-winners.

An award for quantum physics has been expected for many years. #x27;years, with the names of Aspect, Clauser and Zeiliger among the favorites in the event of victory in this field.

Pioneering works on light or photovoltaics were also among the speculations this year.

The award was given last year to two climate change modeling experts, American-Japanese Syukuro Manabe and German Klaus Hasselmann, as well as Italian Giorgio Parisi, specialist in complex physical systems.

Like the economics prize and other scientific prizes, the Nobel Prize in Physics suffers from a shortage of female laureates, but few women's names were among the speculation this year.

Only four women have won in physics since the awards were established in 1901, the first being Marie Curie in 1903 and the last being American astrophysicist Andrea Ghez two years ago.

On Monday, the Nobel Prize in medicine or physiology crowned the Swede Svante Pääbo, discoverer of the DNA of Neanderthal man and Denisova and founder of paleogenomics.

Based in Germany where he works at the prestigious Max-Planck Institute, the laureate compared his research on Monday to archaeological digs in the human genome.

Paleogenetics may well be leaning into our distant ancestors, his discoveries can shed light on the world today, such as during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Nobel Prizes in Science end on Wednesday with the Nobel Prize in Chemistry and then give way to the highly anticipated Literature Prizes on Thursday and Peace Prizes on Friday, the only ones to be awarded in Oslo.

The economy prize, of more recent creation, will close the ball next Monday.

Previous Article
Next Article