Voting day in Eastern Quebec | Elections Quebec 2022

Spread the love

Voting day in Eastern Quebec | Elections Quebec 2022

Polls have been open since 9:30 a.m. Monday.

After 36 days of campaigning, voters of the three regions of Eastern Quebec, like all Quebecers, are called to the polls on Monday.

Polling stations are open from 9:30 a.m. to 8 p.m. .

Here is the situation in each of the nine ridings of the three regions of Eastern Quebec.

Nearly 200,000 voters are called to the polls on Monday in the ridings of Matane–Matapédia, Rimouski, Rivière-du-Loup–Témiscouata and Côte-du-Sud.

The territory of the division includes, in particular, the municipalities of Montmagny, Saint-Jean-Port-Joli and La Pocatière.

Number of electors: 49,996

< p class="e-p">Advance Voting Turnout: 22.01%

The Candidates

  • Sylvain Cloutier (Autonomist Team)
  • Guillaume Dufour (QS)
  • Michel Forget (PQ)
  • Sylvain Lemieux (PLQ)
  • < li>Frédéric Poulin (PCQ)

  • Mathieu Rivest (CAQ)

The riding recorded a turnout of 66.83% in 2018 .

The electoral division comprises, among others, the municipalities of Rivière-du-Loup, Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac and Trois-Pistoles.

Number of voters: 51,202

Advance Voting Turnout: 23.18%

The Candidates

  • Louis Bellemare (PLQ)
  • Amélie Dionne (CAQ)
  • Myriam Lapointe-Gagnon (QS)
  • Louise Moreault (PCQ)
  • Félix Rioux (PQ)
  • Carole Sierpien (Climat Québec)

The riding recorded a turnout of 69.41% in 2018 .

The electoral division of Rimouski notably comprises the towns of Rimouski and Saint-Fabien.

Number of voters: 46,386

Advance voting turnout: 28.37%

< p class="e-p">The candidates

  • Pierre Beaudoin (Climat Québec)
  • Maïté Blanchette Vézina (CAQ)
  • < li>Stéphanie Du Mesnil (PCQ)

  • Danielle Mélanie Gaudreau (Direct Democracy)
  • Carol-Ann Kack (QS)
  • Claude Laroche (PLQ)
  • Samuel Ouellet (PQ)

The riding recorded a turnout of 70.25% in 2018.

The riding of Matane–Matapédia extends from Sainte-Luce to Les Méchins and covers the Matapedia Valley. It includes the municipalities of Matane and Amqui.

Number of electors: 46,257

Rate of participation in the advance voting: 20.17%

The candidates

  • Jean-Sébastien Barriault (CAQ)
  • Pascal Bérubé (PQ)
  • Marie-Phare Boucher (QS)
  • Alexandre Leblanc (PCQ)
  • Harley Lounsbury (PLQ)
  • Madeleine Rose (Unity is Strength)

The constituency recorded a turnout of 65.38% in 2018.

A total of 77,256 voters are registered in the region.

The electoral division of Gaspé extends from Cap-Chat to Grande-Rivière which includes the municipalities of Sainte-Anne-des-Monts, Gaspé and Percé.

Number of voters: 30,172

Advance voting turnout: 21.69%

The candidates

  • Méganne Perry Mélançon (PQ)
  • Stéphane Sainte-Croix (CAQ)
  • Michel Marin (PLQ)< /li>
  • Yv Bonnier-Viger (QS)
  • Pierre-Luc Bouchard (PCQ)

Slightly less than 61% of voters registered on the electoral list voted in 2018.

The electoral division includes, among others, the municipalities of Chandler, New Richmond, Maria, Carleton-sur-Mer, Nouvelle and Paspébiac.

Number of voters: 25,933

Advance voting turnout: 21.70%

< p class="e-p">The candidates

  • Catherine Blouin (CAQ)
  • Christian Cyr (PLQ)
  • Catherine Cyr Wright (QS)
  • Alexis Deschênes (PQ)
  • Anne-Marie Lauzon (Unity is strength)
  • Jocelyn Rioux (Climat Québec)
  • François Therrien (PCQ)

Bonaventure recorded a participation rate of 62.27% in 2018.

The electoral division covers the Madelinot archipelago in its entirety. It is the least populous riding in all of Quebec.

Number of electors: 11,151

Advance Voting Turnout: 21.16%


  • Joël Arseneau (PQ)
  • Jean-Philippe Déraspe (QS)
  • Jonathan Lapierre (CAQ)
  • Evan Leblanc (PCQ)
  • Gil Thériault (PLQ)

The turnout in 2018 was 72.66%.

The region has 70,026 voters registered on the electoral list.

The riding of René-Lévesque extends from Tadoussac to Baie-Trinité.

Number of voters: 32,944

Turnout at the advance poll: 18.72%

The candidates

  • (Philippe) Gilles Babin (Independent )
  • Richard Delisle (Climat Québec)
  • Jeff Dufour Tremblay (PQ)
  • Marc Duperron (PLQ)
  • Audrey Givern-Héroux (QS)
  • Yves Montigny (CAQ)
  • Marie Renée Raymond (PCQ)

In 2018, 58.75 % of voters voted.

The riding of Duplessis goes from Port-Cartier to Blanc-Sablon.

Number of voters: 37,082

Advance voting turnout: 16.62%

< p class="e-p">The candidates

  • Kateri Champagne Jourdain (CAQ)
  • Jacques Gélineau (Climat Québec)
  • < li>Chamroeun Khuon (PLQ)

  • Uapukun Mestokosho (QS)
  • Roberto Stea (PCQ)
  • Marilou Vanier (PQ)

The participation rate in 2018 was 55.81%.

In Quebec, nearly a quarter of voters registered on the electoral list have already voted.

With information from Geneviève Génier Carrier and Guillaume Whalen

Previous Article
Next Article