Spread the love

Why Lewandowski's penalty was withdrawn after Maignan's save ?

The penalty, stopped initially, was finally é removed, here's why.

How cruel it is for the French team and Mike Maignan. On a foul by Upamecano, Poland obtained a penalty. the 78th minute of play. At first, Robert Lewandowski, who made several stops in his race, saw his shot on goal stopped. by Mike Maignan.

Problem, the number 1 goalkeeper of the Blues and AC Milan, did not stay in the game. on his goal line before diving. A strict rule which obliges the referee to have the FC Barcelona striker's penalty withdrawn. Unfortunately, even though both of them decided to move on. to choose the same side, Robert Lewandowski this time equalized.

The exact rule: The guardian now has the right to only have ;#39;one foot touching the goal line (or, in the case of jumping, in alignment with the goal line) when the penalty is taken. " A decision taken in this direction because " it is easier to determine if both feet are not on the line. Also, " as the shooter can delay his run, it is reasonable that the goalkeeper cannot take a step forward. " 

Teilor Stone

By Teilor Stone

Teilor Stone has been a reporter on the news desk since 2013. Before that she wrote about young adolescence and family dynamics for Styles and was the legal affairs correspondent for the Metro desk. Before joining Thesaxon , Teilor Stone worked as a staff writer at the Village Voice and a freelancer for Newsday, The Wall Street Journal, GQ and Mirabella. To get in touch, contact me through my teilor@nizhtimes.com 1-800-268-7116