Spread the love

DIRECT. Giro 2024: in the rain, Pogacar lets the breakaway slip away, follow the race

In this penultimate stage of the Giro 2024, the peloton and Tadej Pogacar left the lead. escape in the rain. This Saturday, the runners will meet with the double ascent of Monte Grappa before a long descent towards the finish at Bassano del Grappa. Follow the race live.

The essentials

  • This Saturday, place à the penultimate stage of this Giro 2024, with a final explanation in the mountains between Alpago and Bassano Del Grappa with a steep climb. total of 4200m. A 184 kilometer long stage during which the peloton meets Monte Grappa before a long descent towards the finish.
  • Parties à 175 kilometers from the finish, Lorenzo Germani and Davide Ballerini are notably in the breakaway, validated by the peloton. Nine runners joined them including Andrea Vendrame, winner yesterday.
  • In the general classification, Slovenian Tadej Pogacar is alone in the world and well ahead of this Giro. He is ahead of Daniel Martinez and Geraint Thomas. Côté French, two riders are in the top 20 of the general classification: Romain Bardet (7th, &12'42" from Tadej Pogacar) and Valentin Paret -Painter (17th, à 41'12").


14:38 – The gap continues to go down

Almost two minutes lost by the leading men from now on, eight kilometers from the arrival at the summit of Monte Grappa.

14:32 – It's over for Ballerini!

Lâché from the first meters of Monte Grappa, Davide Ballarini has just been caught. by the peloton.

14:30 – One minute less

Since the d&amp At the end of Monte Grappa, the peloton recovered. almost a minute on the men at the front.

14:26 – Five men at the front. ecirc;te

The three riders in the lead have just been caught by Alessandro Tonelli and Andrea Vendrame.

14:22 – Pogacar épaulé

In the peloton, Mikkel Bjerg and the UAE team are racing in t& ecirc;te.

14:20 – Vendrame finally distanced

Andra Vendrame pays for his attack at the start of the ascent. Three men are now at the head of the race: Jimmy Janssens, Pelayo Sanchez and Henok Mulubrhan.

14:13 – The UAE in the lead

À At the entrance to Monte Grappa, the UAE formation passed. in head. À Before the race, Vendrame is followed by Jimmy Janssens and Henok Mulubrhan.

14:08 – The relays come together

Ballerini and Pietrobon have been& oacute; released. Winner yesterday, Vendrame is in the lead.

14:07 – Theuns lets go< /h3>

From the first few kilometers, Edward Theuns is released.

14:06 – Place at Monte Grappa

The eleven leading men have just crossed the starting line of the ascent of Monte Grappa. 

14:03 – Narvaez falls

Jhonatan Narvaez was é involved in a solitary fall.

14:00 – Pogacar as a tourist

Came à his car earlier in the race, Tadej Pogacar claimed victory. of sunscreen, according to the revelations of Adam Blythe.

13:55 – Monte Grappa is getting closer

In almost ten kilometers, the peloton will face Monte Grappa for the first time that day. An ascent of 18.1 kilometers of climb for 8.1% average slope.

13 :50 – Ballerini takes the lead

Davide Ballerini crosses the line of Possagno's intermediate sprint ahead of Teuns and Pietrobon.

13:45 – Time to sprint

À Nearly fifteen kilometers from the foot of Monte Grappa, the riders will share a few points in the intermediate sprint at Possagno.

< h3 class="app_edito_title_2">13:40 – Lost time

The eleven leading riders are losing time. They only have 3'35" in advance.

13:37 – Pogacar à the rear

À approaching Monte Grappa, Tadej Pogacar returned à behind the peloton to see his sports director. 

13:32 – UAE in summer ;te

While the escape has hollowed out Apart from this, the UAE team moved back to the top of the table. at the front of the peloton to reduce the gap and position Tadej Pogacar, later.

13:24 – Men at the head

Here are the riders who are at the head of the 20th stage of the Giro 2024: Lorenzo Germani, Davide Ballerini, Nicola Conci, Jimmy Janssens, Henok Mulubrhan,  Ruben Fernandez, Andrea Vendrame, Edward Theuns, Pelayo Sanchez, Andrea Pietrobon and Alessandro Tonelli.

13:16 – The gap stabilizes

While the sun has appeared , the peloton is four minutes behind the breakaway.

Taken by nine riders, Lorenzo Germani and Davide Ballerini make up ;eacute;now the escape of eleven riders of the 20th stage of the Giro 2024. 

13:02 – Less than twenty seconds

Germani and Ballerini will soon be recaptured by the hunting group. Winner yesterday, Vendrame is notably present as is Pietrobon.

12:57 – L'échappée resumption ?

The leading men are only thirty seconds ahead of the chasing group. 

12:52 – Pogacar in the lead

In the peloton, Tadej Pogacar passes the Muro di ca'del Poggio in the lead. They accuse 2'49" behind Germani and Ballerini.

12:50 – Pied à terre

In the first wall of the 20th stage, some riders from the peloton set foot on the road. earth. 


The Giro classification

Results powered by FirstCycling.com

The Giro d'Italia will follow the spring season and depart on May 4. The finish is scheduled for three weeks later, &agrav; know May 26. 

The start of the Giro 2024 took place at Venaria Reale in the suburbs of Turin, near the Juventus Stadium. Arrival will be at Rome. Here is the list of steps:

  • 12th stage, May 16: Martinsicuro-Fano, 183km
  • 13th stage, May 17: Riccione-Cento, 179km
  • 14th stage, May 18: Castiglione delle Stiviere-Desenzano del Garda, 31km (time trial)
  • 15th stage, May 19: Manerba del Garda-Livigno (Mottolino), 220km
  • Day of rest, May 20
  • 16th stage, May 21: Livigno-Santa Cristina Val Gardena (Monte Pana), 202km
  • 17th stage, May 22: Selva di Val Gardena-col Brocon, 154km
  • 18th stage, May 23: Fiera di Primiero-Padua, 166km
  • 19th stage, May 24: Mortegliano-Cima Sappada, 154km
  • 20th stage, May 25: Alpago-Bassano del Grappa, 175km
  • 21st stage, May 26: Rome-Rome, 126km

Here is the route map for this Giro 2024:

DIRECT. Giro 2024: in the rain, Pogacar lets the breakaway slip away, follow the race

© Giro d'Italia

What are the winners of the Tour of Italy ?

Here are the results of the last 15 years of the Giro d'Italia, called the Giro d'Italia. Giro d'Italia. 

  • 2023: P. Roglic
  • 2022: J. Hindley
  • 2021: E .Bernal
  • 2020 : T. Geoghegan Hart
  • 2019: R. Carapaz
  • 2018: C. Froome
  • 2017: T. Dumoulin
  • 2016: V. Nibali
  • 2015: A. Contador
  • 2014: N. Quintana
  • 2013: V. Nibali
  • 2012: R. Hesjedal
  • 2011: Mr. Scarponi
  • 2010: I. Basso
  • 2009: D. Menchov
  • 2008: A. Contador
  • 2007: D. Di Luca
Teilor Stone

By Teilor Stone

Teilor Stone has been a reporter on the news desk since 2013. Before that she wrote about young adolescence and family dynamics for Styles and was the legal affairs correspondent for the Metro desk. Before joining Thesaxon , Teilor Stone worked as a staff writer at the Village Voice and a freelancer for Newsday, The Wall Street Journal, GQ and Mirabella. To get in touch, contact me through my teilor@nizhtimes.com 1-800-268-7116