Spread the love

Madrid Masters 1000: without Djokovic, but with Nadal, the news

The Masters 1000 in Madrid takes place from April 24 to May 5, 2024. Carlos Alcaraz, double title holder, could make a hat-trick in the title. historical.

The Madrid tournament begins this Wednesday, April 24, with women's and men's draws of 96 qualified. Among the men, he will see Jannik Sinner for the first time in his career in the top position of series number one in a major tournament, due to the absence of world number one Serbian Novak Djokovic. Top seed number two, Carlos Alcaraz is still uncertain but should be present at the tournament. Madrid to attempt a hat-trick historical. In the event of victory in the Spanish capital, Alcaraz could be the first to win. winning the tournament in three consecutive editions. A feat that even the king of clay Rafael Nadal has never achieved. À 37 years old, the native of Manacor is trying to continue after his return during the Barcelona tournament last week. He will be opposed to to the young American Darwin Blanch, born in 2007, and could meet his Barcelona tormentor Alex de Minaur in the second round. A good way to observe your progress and recovery in a week.

Six Frenchmen are present for this Masters 1000 in Madrid. Arthur Fils will try to confirm his good week in Barcelona against Altmaier or Landaluce in the second round. Mannarino and Humbert are also exempt from the first round, unlike; Gaël Monfils and Arthur Rinderknech and Luca Van Assche.

In the female table, the table is also quite open, with the possibility of for Aryna Sabalenka to win the Masters 1000 for the third time in four years. You will also have to watch Elena Rybakina, winner Stuttgart, world number four and who eliminated Iga Swiatek on clay last week. On a faster earth à 700 meters above sea level Madrid than in other tournaments on the same surface, Swiatek could be put in difficulty, even though she has never won ; the Spanish tournament in two participations. Clara Burel will be opposed to a qualifier, while Caro Garcia will play Wang or Tomova in the second round.

What are the men's winners of the Madrid tournament ? 

  • 2023: Carlos Alcaraz
  • 2022: Carlos Alcaraz
  • 2021: Alexander Zverev
  • 2020: no tournaments
  • 2019: Novak Djokovic
  • 2018: Alexander Zverev
  • 2017: Rafael Nadal
  • 2016: Novak Djokovic
  • 2015: Andy Murray
  • 2014: Rafael Nadal
  • 2013: Rafael Nadal
  • 2012: Roger Federer
  • 2011: Novak Djokovic
  • 2010: Rafael Nadal
  • 2009: Roger Federer
  • 2008: Andy Murray (hard)
  • 2007: David Nalbandian(hard)
  • 2006: Roger Federer(hard)
  • 2005: Rafael Nadal(hard)
  • 2004: Marat Safin(hard)
  • 2003: Juan Carlos Ferrero(hard)
  • 2002: André Agassi(hard)

What are the women's results of the Madrid tournament ? 

  • 2023: Aryna Sabalenka
  • 2022: Ons Jabeur
  • 2021: Aryna Sabalenka
  • 2020: no tournament
  • 2019: Kiki Bertens
  • 2018: Petra Kvitova
  • 2017: Simona Halep
  • 2016: Simona Halep
  • 2015: Petra Kvitova
  • 2014: Maria Sharapova
  • 2013: Serena Williams
  • 2012: Serena Williams
  • 2011: Petra Kvitova
  • 2010: Aravane Rezaï
  • 2009: Dinara Safina
Teilor Stone

By Teilor Stone

Teilor Stone has been a reporter on the news desk since 2013. Before that she wrote about young adolescence and family dynamics for Styles and was the legal affairs correspondent for the Metro desk. Before joining Thesaxon , Teilor Stone worked as a staff writer at the Village Voice and a freelancer for Newsday, The Wall Street Journal, GQ and Mirabella. To get in touch, contact me through my teilor@nizhtimes.com 1-800-268-7116